Sleeveless shirts went out of style in the 80’s

10 Aug

Now that I had the two sleeves ready, I just needed to attach them.  I could have left them off but I think sleeveless shirts went out of style in the 80’s…unless you ask Chris 😉

First, I stitched up the opening I had left to get the elastic in.  Next, I started gathering the top of the sleeve to make it smaller so that it would match up with the size of the arm hole in the shirt.  Pinned everything together, stitched it up and people…we’ve got one sleeve!

That went too smoothly, which made me worried about the second sleeve.  So I tried again and believe it or not, that one worked great too. Two sleeves!

It only took a year and a half, but I finally think I can manage “Very Easy Vogue” patterns.  I’m so proud *tear*

On to the next step, buttons and button holes.  Turns out I have a button hole setting on my machine. Totally rad.  I found out how to use this from my good friend YouTube:


And I found this other cool video about sewing buttons:

Time to test this bad boy out.  The edges and right side worked like a charm, but when it came to the left side which – required my machine pulling the fabric backwards – it wasn’t having it.  I tried it a few different ways for the remaining three holes and it got better, not quite good, but better.  Hey, not bad for my first try.  Make note of that last sentence, I was optimistic!  A non-cynical New Yorker? I’ve heard that myth before.  I think everything should hold together fine. Worse case scenario, I’ll hand stitch the holes if they start to fray.

At this point the blouse should be done, but I skipped the slip-stitching steps, so I (dreadfully) need to go back and do that.  But of course I tried it on!  I took it in a little bit on the sides, but it could still use some more, it’s fitting a little funky.

It also looks a little funny because I put the buttons and button holes too far over on the one side, leaving a lot of extra fabric on the top flap.  Kind of gives the illusion that the buttons are off center; they’re not.  What I’m thinking of for a solution is just to fold the excess fabric under and top stitch, I don’t mind having a seam near the buttons.

That’s all until the next free afternoon I get.  No sewing this weekend because we’re heading to Delaware to visit the Dogfish Head Brewery.  A Beercation as my friend so eloquently called it.

One Response to “Sleeveless shirts went out of style in the 80’s”

  1. Susan Pagano August 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I can always count on you to make me laugh. Missing you in Maine but hoping the Beercation is going to be wonderful. Can hardly wait for a picture of the fully-finished blouse. I’m so proud of you (tear)

Leave a comment